Monday, July 25, 2011

The Culture of a College Football Program

Random thoughts that I wanted to share with some of you. After pondering South Carolina and the season I believe they are about to have, I began to think about the difficulty of changing the culture of a football program. South Carolina has never experienced any kind of glory on the football field. Their one ACC championship came in 1969 in a year when they lost 4 games including routs against Georgia and Florida State(who wasnt in the ACC yet), and closer but not so close losses to Tennessee and West Virginia. Their 6-0 record against the ACC was superficial, because they did not beat a single ranked team all year.

While there have been glimpses of success ( occasional victories over rivals clemson or georgia, george rogers winning the heisman in 1980, and bowl victories over ohio state twice...) ultimately the gamecock fans have constantly been left with only heartbreak. They simply always lost. Even when things looked the brightest, the gamecocks just always seemed to let it slip away. The magic Lou Holtz brought to the program lasted but a short while, and ended in a shameful way in Death Valley.

That is one of the reasons Steve Spurrier chose to go to South Carolina. While I personally respect and like the man a lot, I must admit there are few with bigger egos. And it would have been a major stroke to his ego to win at South Carolina.

The introduction of Spurrier was met with thunderous applause. After having beaten the Cocks mercilessly in his 11 year tenure at Florida, the gamecocks once again had a glimmer of hope. But even the evil genius Spurrier struggled to change the culture of the South Carolina program. His first year brought wins over Tennessee and Florida. The next Clemson. And finally he got over the hump and beat Georgia. These were all benchmarks Steve had to achieve in order to begin his transformation. It didn't matter if he won 8 or 9 games every year... if he continued to let South Carolina be the whipping boy for the big 3 of the east and their in-state rival, then he never would have gotten any momentum going.

And it wasn't easy for the Ol' Ball Coach to get this train going. After leading the gamecocks to a top 10 ranking and a 6-1 start, the gamecocks would lose to Vanderbilt at home, and eventually end up at 7-5. There were many games that the gamecocks still should have won, and simply let it slip away.... (A 6'6" pot smoking defensive end comes to mind)

But now Spurrier has multiple wins against each of the big 3 and Clemson. He is consistently recruiting the best talent in the country, having in just the last two years signed two five star recruits. It did not happen right away. It took time. And I think Steve would probably even admit that it was harder than he thought it would be. Thats because it is so hard to change the culture of a program. When your team has done nothing consistently except lose, why would you expect different?

That is why I am proud of what GSU is building. To have a winning season in your first year is not meaningless. To have multiple guys on your FCS football team that could have played at the next level of college football but chose instead to be a part of what we are building is not meaningless. To have 6 commits in July is not meaningless. These few years are critical not because of dollars or what conference we might eventually go to. Its all about creating a culture of winning. Expect greatness from the start, and demand nothing less.

Does this mean we should be cocky and arrogant? Flaunting our winning season and recruiting accomplishments across the CAA and the state of Georgia? No. But there is a difference between expecting our team to earn greatness and expecting our team to simply have it given to us because we have a high profile coach, or play in an NFL stadium, or have a school in a big market...

Respect Everyone... Fear No One.

Friday, June 10, 2011

What has happened to LeBron James?

After watching another lackluster performance in The Finals from LeBron James, I find myself reflecting on his career and my perception of him. Thursday night LeBron James recorded a triple double in the NBA Finals. That is something that normally would be celebrated and heralded as a great performance. However, once again the story is "Where was LeBron in the fourth quarter?" LeBron had 2 points last night in the final 12 minutes of the game. That followed a 0 point performance in clutch time the night before. Overall in 5 Finals games, LeBron has 11 points. So for the second year in a row people are questioning his ability to close games out when it matters.

Immediately LeBron apologists started the excuse parade. "He had a triple double! His wife is cheating on him! The heat didn't need him to score more, they needed to play better defense!.... This sounds awfully familiar.... Didn't we go through this last year? Something about LeBron finding out Delonte West had slept with Lebron's mother? That was the rumor after the game 5 no show from James.


I will be the first person to admit I have no idea what that would feel like. I can't imagine being put in that situation. But what separates me and everyone else from being an elite athlete is the ability to set aside your personal life and perform at an extraordinary level when it matters most.

Disclaimer: It is not LeBron making all of these excuses for himself. But nonetheless, they are being made.

I am sure there were plenty of times when Michael Jordan, Larry Bird, or Magic Johnson had a lot on their mind when they arrived at the arena. But they always seemed to rise up in those occasions rather than shrink back. Jordan was hindered throughout his career by his gambling addiction. He was seen at 2 o'clock in the morning in Atlantic City the night before a conference finals game against the Knicks. How did he play? 36 points and 9 rebounds. Magic Johnson has well documented his experiences of "encounters" with women before, after, and even during games. He eventually left the game because he had contracted HIV. You don't think he ever played with distractions?

The ultimate story of a player playing with something going on in his personal life is the infamous 2003-2004 season of Kobe Bryant and the Los Angeles Lakers. Bryant was facing ALLEGATIONS of rape and in 7 separate occasions had to attend a court hearing in the morning and play a basketball game that night. 4 times it happened during the regular season, and on those days, Kobe Bryant average 31 points a game, including a 14 point performance where he had to miss the first quarter. Twice in the first two rounds of the playoffs he performed under similar circumstances and Bryant put up 31 points against the rockets and 42 points against the Spurs.

However the exclamation point came during game 4 of the Eastern Conference Finals against the Minnesota Timberwolves. Up 2-1 in the series, the Lakers faced a critical game 4. If they lost then Minnesota would reclaim home court advantage in the series and would be looking at a game 5 in Minneapolis that could give the Timberwolves the advantage. Kobe Bryant had a court hearing that day in Colorado, and was facing an earlier start time than normal in LA. After arriving in LA less than 2 hours before first tip, Kobe responded with 31 points, 8 rebounds, 4 assists, and a steal.

Greatness is achieved when one overcomes adversity and maintains a high level of performance. LeBron has shown flashes of this throughout his career. Basketball fans will never forget his performance in the 2007 Eastern Conference Finals. After scoring a career playoff low of 10 points(until Game 4 of 2011's finals where he scored 8) in game one of that series, LeBron responded by practically single handedly winning games 3 and 4 in Cleveland, scoring 32 and 25 points and nearly recording triple doubles each time. However Game 5 was probably the highest point of James' career thus far. LeBron scored 48 points, including Cleveland's final 25 points and all 18 in overtime. This game in Detroit swung the series in Cleveland's favor and took them to the NBA Finals.

What has happened to that LeBron? What has happened to the LeBron that took over games in Cleveland? What has happened to the kid that faced scrutiny over him driving an escalade that "his mom bought him" when he was 17 years old and then mocked the media by driving a remote control escalade on the court before his next game? LeBron James has turned into something that basketball fans do not even recognize. He has become passive and indifferent. He has become defensive and bitter towards people that ask him questions. He appears to prefer stand in the corner, make a few nice drives here and there, pass the ball, and watch Dwayne Wade try to win games by himself. Where is that killer instinct? Where is the kid that scored all 25 of his teams' final points?

Is it fair for us to expect a 2007 Eastern Conference Finals Game 5 performance of LeBron every playoff game? Of course not. But we did not put him in this position. LeBron James is responsible for every criticism he is getting right now. He can not blame me, the media, his teammates, his family, or anyone else for all of the scrutiny and attention that comes his way, including from the city of Cleveland.

Because it was not the city of Cleveland that strapped him down and tattoo "Chosen 1" on his back. It was not me who embroidered "King James" on the head rests of that infamous escalade he drove as a 17 year old. It was not the media who said of LeBron, "I Have a goal and its a huge goal... Thats to bring a title to Cleveland and I am not going to stop until I do." It was not ESPN who arranged the one hour special to tell the world where he would be taking his talents (except in the fourth quarter). It was not his teammates who stood on a stage and said, "We are going to win a championship... not one, not two, not three, not four, not five, not six... seven championships."

Much like Kobe Bryant, LeBron James has brought all of this upon himself. The difference between the two? The ability to shut people up and put all of the crap going on aside and perform when it matters most.

I sincerely hope that LeBron can become the player he used to be again. Game 5 against Detroit was one of the single greatest performances I have ever seen. Until LeBron can find a little fire in his gut and learn to take over games like that again, he will never be the same man much less one of the greatest of all time.

Sunday, January 23, 2011

2010 SEC East in Review

Not too shabby. USC lost a game they shouldn't (UK) and Arkansas was a bit better than I expected. Overall i overshot on them by a game, and they still won the East (which was one of the worst divisions in College Football this year).

Florida lost two more game than I expected but they could have easily won both. A last second loss to LSU and having to use our punter for a kicker against MSU cost us those two. But they were miserable all year on offense.

I overshot UGA by a game in my prediction. But they did win one against Tech which I thought they might lose. (Nesbitt plays and I think they do). But the fighting Dan Mullens jumped up and bit the Dogs as well as the Gators. And then the inexplicable loss to Colorado... WITH AJ Green i might add. Although UGA did get great play out of Murray. He might be the best QB in the SEC this year with Newton and Mallet both leaving. But Murray got little help from the line and running game. And the defense struggled mightily against the run. Will things turn around for the dogs?

I predicted Tennessee perfectly. They lost every game I guessed and finished 6-6. They competed in the first half against Oregon and thought they had beaten LSU, but ultimately they were as expected.

I didn't actually lay out the UK and Vandy schedules and predictions, but they performed to expectations and were placed correctly.


I may wait another week or so to see where a few commitments fall to make my predictions for next year. I will tell you right now that I fully expect USC to win the east again. They return too much. And they may be adding the best defensive line prospect in recent memory. So be on the lookout for the 2011 predictions.

Also coming soon- (Signing day coverage, NBA coverage, SEC basketball coverage, and of course... BASEBALL SEASON!!!!!!!!!!)