Saturday, November 28, 2009

Tim Tebow is the best college football player in history

Let that statement sink in for a second. Digest it. Think about it.

Now some of you are now ready to go off and spout out half a dozen players who were better than Tebow. They had better stats, while playing for a shorter period of time. Tebow is a system quarterback who's stats are inflated because he IS Florida's offense. He is such a goodie goodie. The media drools over him. They treat him like he's God. Tebow loves all this attention....

And i simply sit back and laugh.

Look at the statement again... did I say Tebow was the most talented player ever? Did i say he is the greatest athlete to ever play the game? no. he is the best college football player in history.

What exactly makes a college athlete? well let me first point out that the word college comes first. It's easy to forget that the superstars we watch every saturday are students first and foremost. Tebow, despite being in a classroom setting for the first time, earned a degree in family, youth, and communication studies while maintaining a 3.66 gpa. Not bad for a home school kid who everyone dubbed as the dumb athlete the second he walked on campus.

Another part of being a college athlete is adhering to the core values of the NCAA. here are such core values.
# The collegiate model of athletics in which students participate as an avocation, balancing their academic, social and athletics experiences.
# The highest levels of integrity and sportsmanship.
# The pursuit of excellence in both academics and athletics.

The summer after Tebow won the heisman he did not turn down a single invitation to any public appearance. Yet he still kept his commitment to the team and to his studies. He took classes straight through the summer every year so that he could stay on campus and work.

Not to mention the constant service work, whether it be at local prisons or thousands of miles away. Tebow epitomizes the concept of "others first".

One of the biggest reasons Tebow is criticized is he is seen as almost overwhelming with sharing his faith. Well, thats what he is supposed to do. As a Christian God calls him to share his faith and to live his life in a way that exemplifies that. AM i saying Tebow is perfect in every way? Absolutely not. We are all sinners who are incapable of living our lives without fault. But has Tebow ever looked into a camera and tried to convert someone with words? Has he ever said he wants Gator fans to repent of their sins and confess to God. No. He has done it the right way. He has not forced his faith on anyone. He has shared what HE believes and has led through his example. All Christians would do well to do more of that.

Ultimately this is why i make the claim that Tebow is the best college football player in history. His love for his team, his university, and his fans. As a lifelong Gator fan i can relate to how Tebow feels. He was born and raised a member of Gator Nation. He started as a fan, which has made his connection with the fans that much sweeter. When he came out on to florida field for the last time today, i have no shame in admitting that i had to fight back tears. It has nothing to do with my love for Tim Tebow. It has everything to do with my love for college football and the passion that it invokes. Tebow personifies that passion. His unyielding determination to lay his body and his heart on the line all for the fans is what college football is all about. Its not a job to him. He's not getting paid to be the quarterback. He's not trying to improve his free agent stock. He's not looking for endorsements.

After each home game Tebow does a lap around the bowl stadium of florida field. I stayed to watch his last lap and looked on as he went from person to person, not leaving a single hand untouched. It took him nearly 15 minutes. All over the field his teammates were celebrating. How easy would it have been to just say to heck with it and go celebrate with his team? No, not this man. This man is here for me. He is here for the other record 90,907 people in attendance this evening.

In light of the superstar status that has come with a player like Tebow, it is very easy for that player to start to feel separated from the team. For him to not be one of the guys... I direct you to that september day in kentucky. when tebow lay motionless on the ground, and his team, despite being told to go back to the sidelines, crowded around their fallen leader. Their love for their quarterback was clear as day. They will attest to that any day.

There will always be naysayers. whether it is from bitter rivals, or unconnected bystanders who simply don't buy into the hype... they are always welcome to share their own opinions. In my opinion, we never have, and maybe never will again see a better college football player.

2 comments:

  1. Wow...I'm sorry Peanut but I truly just had to "sit back and laugh" at this myself.

    I was expecting a stat rant, and given that I would have had to stomache my pride and reluctantly agree that Tebow has been one of the best, if not THE best, college football player of all time.

    But you are actually claiming Tebow is the greatest football player of all time because he's a nice guy, hard worker, and loves his school? Definitely admirable qualities, but please, let's not be ridiculous.

    There are plenty of nice, hard working, passionate people out there, and a lot of them would look twice as good on the cover of GQ. Doesn't make them the greatest in history at what they do.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Greg what's your point. You want the stats? ok... here are a few for you.

    He has more rushing and total touchdowns than anyone in SEC History. He has more total yards than anyone in SEC history. He is the most effecient passer in SEC history. His senior class has the best winning percentage of any senior class in SEC history. He became the first ever player to run and throw for 20 touchdowns in a single season.... All this while starting for only three years. People take that for granted. He didn't start as a freshman... imagine if he had.

    Stats can get boring sometimes... my argument was that while Tebow's stats are out of this world insanely good, all of the other stuff that i mention is what truly, in my opinion, pushes him over the edge.

    There has never been anyone that has had the complete package that Tebow brings to college football. There may have been better athletes, there may have been plenty of other "nice, hard working, loyal" guys.... But to me, no one has personified a superior college athlete better than Tebow.

    ReplyDelete