Thursday, November 19, 2009

US Soccer and thoughts about World Cup Qualifying

There a lot of reasons to be excited about US Soccer. They just won their qualifying group for the first time EVER. They had a good showing this past summer at the Confederations Cup with big wins over Egypt and Spain. And they were competitive, despite blowing a 2 goal lead, in the final against Brazil. However, since then there as not been much to write home about. They suffered a crushing defeat to Mexico in the Gold Cup final, and they continue to allow too many second half goals. 24 out of their 36 goals allowed in qualifying came in the second half.

The reason for this statistic is simple. Lack of depth. The US is still behind the other soccer powers in terms of having a strong supply of reserves. Our starting 11 at full strength can compete with anyone in the world. But its the substitutions in the 60th and 70th minutes that are beating us. Both goals against italy came from a sub. 1 goal against brazil was a sub. 2 goals yesterday against denmark came from subs. Elite soccer teams take advantage of their depth by substituting difference making athletes late into the game.

Part of the reason for this lack of depth how little some of our players actually play. The MLS season is much shorter than the european leagues, and most of the players that the US do have playing overseas aren't starters. Until the US can fill a roster of athletes that play week in and week out against tough competition, we will not compete for a world cup.

I enjoyed getting to watch some qualifying yesterday. I was surprised to see Russia (a top 15 team) fail to qualify. But the match of the day had to be Ireland vs France. Ireland came in to the match down 1-0 after allowing France a goal in dublin last saturday. however they tied the aggregate score in the first half and held on to that lead to force extra time. Had they held on during extra time, they would have won due have a better goal difference. But, in the 103 minute of the match, France had a free kick soar through the box to their star striker, Tiery Henry, who then STOPPED THE BALL WITH HIS HAND, and set up the game winning goal which sent France to the world cup. here is the video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9YVNs-UwJY

HOW IS THAT MISSED! THIS IS A MATCH WHO DETERMINES WHO GOES TO THE WORLD CUP! HOW DO YOU MISS THAT! This is an absolute outrage that this goal was allowed. The Irish players erupted with fury the second the ball hit the net, and pleaded their case. Henry even ADMITTED to the ref that he did indeed handball it, to which the ref responded "you're not the referee!!!"...... ARE YOU KIDDING? This ref should never be allowed to take part in a world cup related match ever again. Come on man, swallow your pride, admit you made a mistake, and get the call RIGHT.

Yet again, FIFA comes to the rescue of the european giants. most corrupt sports organization outside of boxing.

No comments:

Post a Comment